top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIzzy Savege

Art Therapy For All

Updated: Sep 7, 2019


Client experimenting with oil paints for the first time


One of the reasons I'm so passionate about Art Therapy is that it offers something for everyone, no matter your age, background, ability or experience. In my first blog A Blank Page, I highlight the importance of the process of the art making, over the 'final piece'. What is created in Art Therapy is a connection to a another person, and to the art materials. The feelings that arise during therapy, may be channeled through the art, and become the focus. In this way, a client can come with a difficulty or problem, and work through it with the help of the therapist, knowing that whatever they make during the process won't be judged.


This process does not rely on a certain material or medium to be successful. Finding a creative outlet that suits each individual client is important here. Although watercolour paints may help one person to feel free, experimental, and connected with the moment, for someone else clay may do this much more effectively. Feeling comfortable and safe enough to experiment and play helps when searching for the materials or mediums that suit you the most.


Sometimes illness or disabilities can affect a client's range of movement. In these cases, art materials or tools may be adapted so that physical limitations do not affect their participation in the therapy. The therapist may even take part in the making. During my time working in a hospice for terminally ill patients, I remember one client reciting his thoughts and feelings to me like a poem, as I wrote them down. I find that collaborating with my patients in this way can really strengthen the therapeutic relationship, and enable something to be expressed or released in a totally different way.


I hope you have found this little post interesting, and you can see how flexible and adaptable Art Therapy can be. Stay tuned for my next post on what to look for in a therapist.


Take care, and keep creative.




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page